2015 John Yokley Ironman GNCC Side by Side Race Report

Team Big Country Powersports earned a sixth place finish at the sixth and final round of the 2015 GNCC Side-by-Side Championship on Saturday in Crawfordsville, Indiana.

The Ironman GNCC is known as one of the favorite stops on the circuit, showcasing the largest side-by-side turnout of the season with 80 machines lining up at the historic Ironman Raceway. John Yokley and his passenger Jarrod McClure shot off the start to capture the holeshot aboard the Polaris RZR S 900. Yokley, who started on row five, led the way into the woods on the opening lap as he battled with multi-time GNCC Champion William Yokley.

As the two-lap card fell, John and William continued to battle back and forth. John lost time when he approached a lapped-driver on the trail, allowing William to break away. However, John put on a charge at the end of the lap to make a pass on his uncle William with one lap to go. John continued his charge on the final lap, where he made another pass for sixth place just before the checkered flag.

“Starting from the fifth row I am very happy with a sixth place overall finish,” Yokley said. “It was a good time racing with William out there; we hooked up and ran some hard laps. I finally put the pass on him and gained some time to finish sixth. The car worked great in all aspects and I’m so excited for next year already!”

The GNCC Side-by-Side Championship concluded on Saturday with the Ironman GNCC. For more information on the team, please visit www.yokleyracing.com.

To watch the complete coverage from Saturday’s Side-by-Side race in Indiana, visit www.racertv.com/category/gncc-utv-live.

John Yokley Side-by-Side Racing Team Sponsors: Polaris, Big Country Powersports, Racer Tech, STI, Coastal Racing, Elka Suspension, Beard Seats, SSI Decals, OMF.

Ironman GNCC
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Round 6 of 6
Saturday, October 31

XC1 Pro Results:

  1. Tim Farr (CAN)
  2. Bill Patterson (POL)
  3. Mouse Pratt (CAN)
  4. Kyle Chaney (CAN)
  5. Larry Hendershot (CAN)
  6. John Yokley (POL)
  7. Treavis Poynter (POL)
  8. William Yokley (POL)
  9. John Barnes (POL)
  10. Steven Matko (CAN)

XC1 Modified Point Standings:

  1. Kyle Chaney (128)
  2. Larry Hendershot (104)
  3. Tim Farr (102)
  4. Mouse Pratt (94)
  5. Bill Patterson (93)
  6. Steven Matko (74)
  7. Treavis Poynter (69)
  8. Marcus Pratt (50)
  9. William Yokley (49)
  10. Frank Olander (47)